

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Thursday, March 28, 2024 McIntyre Curling Club

If there are any errors or omissions, please contact the undersigned

In attendance:

Wayne Jaszan, Elaine Jaszan, Gervais Pelletier, Claudette Pelletier, Rita Beaudry, Rob Armstrong, Greg Wilson, Kerry Canie, Noel Arbic, Norm Nankervis, Belinda Ritchie and more than 100 members.

The meeting was called to order at 12:20 p.m.

President Greg Wilson extended thank yous to those members who helped make the Joe Gubbels FUNspiel another great success, as follows:

Noel Arbic, Rita Beaudry, Gervais Pelletier (Draw Committee) John Pollack - posting the scores Ed Richter - draw schedule

TROPHY PRESENTATIONS - Joe Gubbels FUNspiel

1st Place - the **Joe Gubbels Trophy** was presented to the team of Leon Robinette (Clayton Dulong, Nevio Salvati /Irvin Graham and Carol Halt).

The **Sportsmanship Trophy** was presented to the team of Bill Vane (Bill Glaister, Pauline Pilotte and Judy Desantis).

Winners of the Wednesday League (pre-Christmas draw) A Division was the team of Floyd Hopson (Jim Lauay, John Pollak, Clayton Gervais) and B Division was Ron Hueston (Archie Berube, Pauline Pilotte, Bob Pawson).

Winners of the Wednesday league (post-Christmas draw) A Division was Ed Richter (Bernie Christian, Terry Pawson, Jack Watson) and Ron Hueston (B Division).

1. Minutes

The Annual General meeting minutes of March 21, 2023 are posted and can be viewed on the New Horizons Curling website.

Moved by: Norm Beaudry Seconded by: Noel Arbic

THAT the minutes of March 21, 2023 be accepted, as posted.

CARRIED

2. <u>Treasurer's Report</u>

Treasurer Elaine Jaszan provided a financial report for those members who wished to see it. The Treasurer reported that the league finances appear to be in good order at this time. The Treasurer recommended that there be no increase in fees for the 24/25 curling season.

3. Elections

Noel Arbic conducted the election:

<u>Moved by</u>: Leo Chaumont <u>Seconded by</u>: Connie Grosvenor

THAT Kerry Canie remains as Secretary.

CARRIED

Elaine Jaszan indicated that she is stepping down as Treasurer. President Wilson thanked her for her many years of service.

<u>Moved by</u>: Greg Wilson <u>Seconded by</u>: Norm Beaudry

THAT Clayton Dulong stands for the position of Treasurer.

CARRIED

Moved by: Marcel Heroux Seconded by: Joanne McGee

THAT Belinda Ritchie remains as Vice President.

CARRIED

Moved by: Rob Armstrong Seconded by: Ivy Haasen

THAT Greg Wilson remains as President.

CARRIED

4. <u>Highlights</u>

President Greg Wilson pointed out the accomplishments of the 23/24 curling season, as follows:

- currently the membership stands at 175 members

- 27 times during the season, the maximum number of curlers was reached

- may have to look at renting more ice next season

- three (3) clinics were held with over 70 members attending

- 126 members attended the Christmas banquet

- over \$2,900 was collected and donated to the two food banks at Christmas

- both FUNspiels were successful

- the Crooked Broom will be kept "in house" next year

- President Wilson thanked the Executive. A special thank you to Elaine Jaszan, our outgoing Treasurer and welcome aboard to our new Treasurer, Clayton Dulong

- President Wilson extended a big thank you to Claudette and Gervais Pelletier for all their hard work over the years, as they step down from the Executive

- two (2) new Directors were appointed - Monique MacQuarrie and John Pollak

- thank yous were extended to members who worked the desk on Tuesday and Thursday morning Draws

- thank you to Ted O'Connor for agreeing to sit on the Draw Committee

- thank you to the Prize Committee comprised of Lambert Croaker, Belinda Ritchie and Joanne McGee

-thank you to Rob Armstrong for looking after our Website and Facebook

- thank you to Wayne Jaszan for looking after the Wednesday league

- thank you to the ice makers, bartenders and the members who help set up and take down during the FUNspiels and banquets

- thank you to Kim Meunier (McIntyre Curling Club) and the MCC Board of Directors

- a big thank you to all the members behind the scenes who make this league a huge success

5. Adjournment

<u>Moved by</u>: Sandra Leblanc <u>Seconded by</u>: Ray Leveille

THAT the meeting adjourn at 12:45 p.m.

CARRIED

Minutes prepared by: KERRY CANIE kerrycanie@gmail.com