New Horizons Seniors' Curling League

Minutes – Annual General Meeting

Mar 22/18, McIntyre Curling Club, Timmins

timminsnewhorizons.tripod.com

ATTENDANCE	Wayne Jaszan [x	[]	Ray Schizkoske [x]	Norm Beaudry	[x]
	Elaine Jaszan [x]]	Malcolm Mac Donald [x	Rob Armstrong	[x]
	Noel Arbic [x	[]	Rita Beaudry [x]	Constance Leroux	[x]
	Gervais Pelletier	[x]	Claudette Pelletier [x]	Richard Dickson	[x]

The meeting was called to order by President Wayne Jaszan at 12:15 PM with approximately 96 members and guests in attendance.

TROPHY PRESENTATIONS:

JOE GUBBELLS FUNSPIEL:

1st Place: the Joe Gubbells Trophy was presented by Wayne Jaszan to Team Ray Ginglo, John Leblanc, Jack Watson and Elaine Jaszan

Awards were provided by the New Horizons Curling League

2nd Place: the Parmalat Trophy was presented by Norm Beaudry to Team Ted O'Connor Carmen Perrier, Rob Armstrong and Carole Delarosbil

Awards were provided by Parmalat and New Horizons Curling League

3rd Place: the **Siva's Restaurant Trophy** was presented by Wayne Jaszan to Team Louis Fortin, Norm Beaudry, Greg Wilson and Joanne Bergeron

Awards were provided by Siva's Restaurant and New Horizons Curling League

The Consolation Award went to Team Rod Harwood, Noel Arbic, Alfonso DeLuca and Lorraine Charette for their enthusiastic participation.

WEDNESDAY COMPETITIVE LEAGUE:

Pre-Christmas Draw: the **McDonald Feed Supply Trophy** was presented to Team Armand Boudreau, Ray Ginglo, Dave Moore and Ivy Haasen

Post-Christmas Draw: the **Tiffany Kitchens Trophy** was presented to Team Wayne Jaszan, Jeremy Pacaud, Rob Armstrong, and Jerry Hannah

BOB ARMSTRONG Memorial Plaque

President Wayne Jaszan provided the back ground to the creation of this Memorial Plaque in memory of Robert (Bob) Armstrong a long time member of the Timmins New Horizon Seniors League, who had an unfortunate fall during a game. Rita Beaudry read the encription, which she was instrumental in writing, on the plaque. The plaque will be hung under and become part of the

Over 80 Members Plaque. Wayne also referred to the \$500.00 donation from the Armstrong family, to go towards promotion of on Ice safety and the purchase of equipment for our Curling Clinic. Mrs. Diane Armstrong was in attendance and thanked the League for its work and continued promotion of on ice safety and the game of curling.

APPRECIATION:

Thanks was extended to the Ice Making team of Dave Moore, Ed Richter and Jerry Hannah

MINUTES OF LAST MEETING:

The minutes of the last meeting of Mar 23, 2017 were read by Secretary Malcolm. No errors or omissions

MOVED by Elaine Jaszan SECONDED by Sandra Leblanc that the minutes of the last minutes be adopted as read CARRIED

BUSINESS ARISING FORM THE LAST MINUTES: No Business arising from the minutes.

TREASURER'S REPORT:

Treasurer Elaine reported on the League's financial situation which should be about \$5000 more than last year. Elaine indicated there should be no reason to increase fees for next year.

MOVED by Frank Haasen accepted as presented SECONDED by Connie Mac Donald that the Treasurer's report be CARRIED

CORRESPONDANCE: none

NEW BUSINESS: No new business

2016/17 HIGHLIGHTS: presented by Wayne Jaszan

- We had a large increase new members this year. As we determined last year, our best method of promoting Sr. curling is by word of mouth.
 Keep talking it up and bring out your friends and neighbours next season.
- * We were able to offer a free Christmas Banquet for our members for a third year. Special thanks to Claudette and Gervais Pelletier for organizing the buffet, as well as the rest of the members who pitched in to help. An excellent meal was provided by SIVA's.
- The food drive in support of the local food banks was very successful. The food bins overflowed and just under \$600 was given in donations. Leftovers from the banquet went to the Good Samaritan Inn.
- the work of our 3 person Draw Committee to make up the teams for our bonspiels has been a great success and will continue into the future. Well done to the Committee.
- Thanks to all members for their safety awareness and positive attitude toward having fun and enjoying the game.

- We won the Challenge Cup with Iroquois Falls. Many of our new members joined in and have been involved in some very noisy bus rides home. What happens on the bus stays on the bus.
- For the first time ever, we ran a 4 day curling clinic, 2 hr per day, with 22 people per day. We also purchased just over \$500 worth of equipment for use in the clinics. We are looking at expanding and improving on this next season, offering a day for stick curlers and a day or two as a refresher on delivery, line of delivery, turns etc. More to come on this.

ELECTIONS: Noel Arbic took over the meeting to conduct elections for the 2018/19 Executive positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Webmaster. All incumbents agreed to stand for another term.

POSITION	CANDIDATE	Nominated by	Seconded	CARRIED
President:	Wayne Jaszan	Frank Haasen	Connie Mac Donald	Yes
Vice-President	Norm Beaudry	Bob Third	Richard Dickson	Yes
Secretary	Malcolm Mac D	Jim Hall	Brian Ringrose	Yes
Treasurer	Elaine Jaszan	Connie Mac Donald	Bob Pawson	Yes
Webmaster	Rob Armstrong	Ray Ginglo	Ted O'Connor	Yes

Directors: all directors have indicated their willingness to continue on our Board of Directors

Noel Arbic Rita Beaudry Richard Dickson

Constance Leroux Claudette Pelletier Gervais Pelletier

Past President Ray Shizkoske continues in this position

Draw Committee Noel Arbic, Rita Beaudry, Gervais Pelletier

ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by Rick Promaine SECONDED by Noel Arbic that the meeting be adjourned at 1:19 PM CARRIED

Minutes recorded by Malcolm Mac Donald, Secretary.

Any errors or omissions, please contact mmacondma@gmail.com