MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING NEW HORIZONS SENIORS' CURLING LEAGUE THURSDAY, MARCH 26, 2015

The meeting was called to order by Wayne Jaszan at 12:10 p.m. with approximately 65 members present.

TROPHY PRESENTATION:

Joe Gubbels Funspiel:

First Prize: Joe Gubbels Trophy was presented to Team Ray Schizkoske with Bill Pye, Lloyd Labine, and Constance Leroux /Rhea McKane. \$40 each curler donated by New Horizons.

Second Prize: Parmalat Trophy was presented to Team John Perrier with Richard Dickson, Norm Beaudry and Nevio Salvati /Elaine Nyman. Gift cards donated by Parmalat and \$30 each donated by New Horizons.

Third Prize: Labatt Trophy was presented to Team Bill Vane with Bob Gerbasi, Marty Wallingford and Anthony Ciccone. Labatt gift basket and \$25 each donated by New Horizons.

Consolation Prize: Team Brian Ringrose with George Steep, Alfonso Deluca and Judy Robinette.

Drawmaster Ray Ginglo advised that the final team rankings will be available on our website.

Wednesday Curling League:

McDonald Feed Supply Trophy was presented to winners of the Pre-Christmas draw; Team Dave Moore with Paul Kleinhuis, Joan Pye and Rick Szewcyk.

Tiffany Kitchens Trophy was presented to winners of the Post-Christmas draw; Team Wayne Jaszan with Louis Fortin, Jeremy Pacaud and Norm Beaudry.

Over 80 Club:

We welcomed a new Over 80 member this year, Jim Hall. The Over 80 game held on March 19, 2015 was won by Team Roger Pellerin.

Norm Beaudry thanked everyone who helped organize the Funspiel.

ELECTIONS:

Noel Arbic opened the elections portion of the meeting. The existing executive was re-elected unanimously.

President: Wayne Jaszan Past President: Ray Schizkoske Vice President: Norm Beaudry

Treasurer: Elaine Jaszan

Secretary: Malcolm MacDonald

Drawmaster: Ray Ginglo

Directors: Noel Arbic, Claudette Pelletier, Gervais Pelletier, Joan Pye.

Wayne asked for 2 volunteers for Directors for the new season. Rita Beaudry and Constance

Leroux volunteered.

Noel thanked Don Davidson for assisting with morning draws.

APPRECIATION:

Thank you was extended to Ice Makers Dave Moore and Bob Maenck, as well as Tarja Brayshaw, Bartender.

PINS FOR NEW MEMBERS:

Wayne has given pins to all new members who are currently in town. Those who are not here will get them in the fall.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING:

Due to an oversight the Minutes were not read.

MEMBERSHIP:

Wayne stated that we had 19 new members this year and membership and attendance increased. By the end of November we should have a good forecast for attendance for next year. Lots of advertising has been done but word of mouth still seems the best for recruiting new members.

FINANCIAL REPORT:

Elaine Jaszan gave a brief financial report. Due to increase in membership and attendance, our bank account has increased this season and there will be no need to increase membership fees or fees per game for the next season.

NEW BUSINESS:

Ray Ginglo addressed a concern regarding the Iroquois Falls Challenge. At the Executive Meeting February 24, 2015 the signup procedure was clarified. If you curl in Iroquois Falls Challenge, you must sign up as a spare for the next event. In future the signup sheet will also indicate the date when it will be removed.

Moved by Bill Vane, seconded by Ray Schizkoske, that the curlers in the Iroquois Falls Challenge, whether in Timmins or Iroquois Falls, pay \$10 each time. This will cover the cost of the bus, and it was suggested that the extra money could be put toward the First Prize for the Joe Gubbels Funspiel. Motion carried.

CLOSING REMARKS:

Wayne thanked the executive and the volunteers. There will be an Executive Meeting in September. Safe and happy summer to all and see you next curling season.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Bob Clermont, seconded by David Smith that the meeting be adjourned.

Minutes recorded by Elaine Jaszan, Treasurer, New Horizons Seniors' Curling League. If there are errors or omissions please contact Elaine at ewjzn@ntl.sympatico.ca.