# **New Horizons Seniors' Curling League**

## Minutes - Annual General Meeting

## Mar 23/17, McIntyre Curling Club, Timmins

timminsnewhorizons.tripod.com

| <b>ATTENDANCE</b> | Wayne Jaszan [x]      | Ray Schizkoske [x]      | Norm Beaudry [x]     |
|-------------------|-----------------------|-------------------------|----------------------|
|                   | Elaine Jaszan [x]     | Malcolm Mac Donald [2   | x]                   |
|                   | Noel Arbic [x]        | Rita Beaudry [x]        | Constance Leroux [x] |
|                   | Gervais Pelletier [x] | Claudette Pelletier [x] | Richard Dickson [x]  |

The meeting was called to order by President Wayne Jaszan at 12:15 PM with approximately 90 members in attendance.

#### TROPHY PRESENTATIONS:

#### JOE GUBBELLS FUNSPIEL:

1<sup>st</sup> Place: the Joe Gubbells Trophy was presented by Wayne Jaszan to Team Marcel Turcotte including George Steep, Don Davidson, Linda Dickson

Awards were provided by the New Horizons Curling League

2<sup>nd</sup> Place: the Parmalat Trophy was presented by Norm Beaudry to Team Ted O'connor including Claudette Pelletier, Glenna Brazeau, Ivy Hanson

Awards were provided by Parmalat and New Horizons Curling League

<u>3<sup>rd</sup> Place</u>: the Siva's Restaurant Trophy was presented by Wayne Jaszan to Team Ray Schizkoske including Norm Beaudry, Ben Madill, Paulette McNulty

Awards were provided by Siva's Restaurant and New Horizons Curling League

<u>The Consolation Award</u> went to Team Moe Charlebois including Connie Mac Donald, Constance Leroux, Frank Haasen for their enthusiastic participation.

#### WEDNESDAY COMPETITIVE LEAGUE:

<u>Pre-Christmas Draw</u>: the McDonald Feed Supply Trophy was presented to Team Jim Hall Including Connie Mac Donald, Jim Hall Jr and Malcolm Mac Donald.

<u>Post-Christmas Draw</u>: the Tiffany Kitchens Trophy was presented to Team Including Armand Boudreau, Ray Ginglo, Dave Moore, Marina Glaister

#### APPRECIATION:

Thanks was extended to the Ice Making team of Dave Moore, Ed Richter and Jerry Hannah

Thanks was extended to our Bartender Tarja Brayshaw.

#### **MINUTES OF LAST MEETING:**

The minutes of the last meeting were read by Secretary Malcolm. No errors or omissions

MOVED by Ted O'Connor SECONDED by Connie Mac Donald that the minutes of the last minutes be adopted as read CARRIED

#### **BUSINESS ARISING FORM THE LAST MINUTES:**

Update: Phil Barette's name was added to the Over 80 Trophy

#### TREASURER'S REPORT:

Treasurer Elaine reported on the League's financial situation which should be about \$2500 more than last year. Elaine indicated there should be no reason to increase fees for next year.

MOVED by Marcel Turcotte accepted as presented SECONDED by Brian Ringrose that the Treasurer's report be accepted as presented CARRIED

**CORRESPONDANCE:** none

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

SIVA's Restaurant has joined with the New Horizon's Curling League as a new Sponsor providing prizes for Third Place for the Joe Gubbells Fun Spiel, as well as awards for other events. We will be going to SIVA's to provide all our banquet needs. Members our encouraged to support our new sponsor.

## 2016/17 HIGHLIGHTS: presented by Wayne Jaszan

- NHCL donated \$450 toward the cost of the new McIntyre Curling Club sign
- We had 22 new members this year for a net increase of about 9 members. As we determined last year, our best method of promoting Sr. curling is by word of mouth. Keep talking it up and bring out your friends and neighbours next season.
- \* We were able to offer a free Christmas Banquet for our members. Special thanks to Claudette and Gervais Pelletier for organizing the buffet, as well as the rest of the members who pitched in to help. An excellent meal was provided by SIVA's.
- \* The food drive in support of the local food banks was very successful. Leftovers from the banquet went to the Good Samaritan.
- the creation of a 3 person Draw Committee to make up the teams for our bonspiels has been a great success and will continue into the future. Well done to the Committee.
- thanks to Malcolm for running our Curling Clinics again this year and for raising the level of awareness for on ice safety and the need for proper footwear and safety head gear.

**ELECTIONS:** Noel Arbic took over the meeting to conduct elections for the 2017/18 Executive positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Webmaster. All incumbents with the exception of the Webmaster agreed to continue on for another term.

| <u>POSITION</u> | <u>CANDIDATE</u> | Nominated by      | Seconded            | CARRIED |
|-----------------|------------------|-------------------|---------------------|---------|
| President:      | Wayne Jaszan     | Gervais Pelletier | Connie Grosvenor    | Yes     |
| Vice-President  | Norm Beaudry     | Marcel Turcotte   | Brian Ringrose      | Yes     |
| Secretary       | Malcolm Mac D    | Connie Grosvenor  | Rita Beaudry        | Yes     |
| Treasurer       | Elaine Jaszan    | Connie Mac Donald | Claudette Pelletier | Yes     |
| Webmaster       | Rob Armstrong    | Ray Ginglo        | Ted O'Connor        | Yes     |
|                 |                  |                   |                     |         |

Directors: all directors have indicated their willingness to continue on our Board of Directors

Noel Arbic Rita Beaudry Richard Dickson

Constance Leroux Claudette Pelletier Gervais Pelletier

Past President Ray Shizkoske continues in this position

Draw Committee Noel Arbic, Rita Beaudry, Gervais Pelletier

Thanks to Ray Ginglo for his dedicated service as Webmaster and Drawmaster

**OTHER:** Mrs. Diane Armstrong attended the banquet and rose to thank the League and members for the heartfelt support offered to her and the Armstrong Family at the time of her husband Bob's unfortunate death while playing the game he loved. Thanks to Mrs. Armstrong for her strength and for attending our banquet. Welcome Rob Armstrong to the League and for joining us on the Board as our new Webmaster

### **ADJOURNMENT**

MOVED by Richard Dickson SECONDED by Moe Charlebois that the meeting be adjourned at 12:50 PM CARRIED

Minutes recorded by Malcolm Mac Donald, Secretary. Any errors or omissions, please contact <a href="mailto:mmacondma@gmail.com">mmacondma@gmail.com</a>