MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, March 21, 2023 McIntyre Curling Club



If there are any errors or omissions, please contact the undersigned

In attendance:

Wayne Jaszan, Elaine Jaszan, Gervais Pelletier, Claudette Pelletier, Joanne McGee, Rita Beaudry, Rob Armstrong, Greg Wilson, Noel Arbic, Norm Nankervis and approximately 80 members.

The meeting was called to order at 12:15 p.m.

Wayne Jaszan presiding the meeting.

1. Trophy Presentations- Joe Gubbels Funspiel

1st Place – the Joe Gubbels Trophy was presented to the Ted O'Connor team- Rosa Lavoie, Lambert Croaker, Joanna Conley

2nd Place – the Parmalat Trophy was presented to the Ron Hueston team- Gary Legros, Ray Leveille, Claude Pronovost

3rd Place – the Siva's Restaurant Trophy was presented to the Ray Ginglo team- Dave Montreuil, Donna Bujold, Ursula Siembida

2. Wednesday Draws

There will no longer be trophy presentation but pictures were taken of the pre and post Christmas winners from each pool:

Pre-Christmas:

Pool A Floyd Hopson, John Pollak, Jim Lauay, Clayton Gervais

Pool B Tie Sandra Leblanc, Connie Grosvenor, Bruce Nichols, Joanne McGee. Jacques Fernette, Len Gordon, Mark Verrault, Alfonso Deluca

Post-Christmas:

Pool A Tie- Floyd Hopson, John Pollak, Jim Lauay, Clayton Gervais

- Bill Vane, Greg Wilson, Val MacInnes, Claude Pronovost, Dan

Bozzer

Pool B Ted O'Connor, Noel Arbic, Jean-Guy Boutin, Brigitte Castonguay

3. Minutes

Minutes of the March 31,2022 AGM are available on the New Horizons Curling website for all members to review.

Moved by: Joanne McGee Seconded by: John Pollak

That the minutes be accepted

4. Treasurer's Report

The treasurer was unable to provide a formal report due her having had eye surgery. She is confident that the club will break even this year and recommends that there be no increase in fees for the 2023-24 season

No motion since no report was presented

5. Elections

Noel Arbic conducted the elections.

Wayne Jaszan is stepping down as President after 9 years but will stay on the Executive as Past President

President

The floor was open for nominations
Greg Wilson

Nominated: Carole Girard Seconded: Connie Grosvenor

Carried

Vice President

The floor was open for nominations
Belinda Ritchie
Nominated: Grag Wilson

Nominated: Greg Wilson Seconded: Sandra Leblanc

Carried

Treasurer

The floor was open for nominations Elaine Jaszan Nominated: Greg Wilson

Carried

Secretary

The floor was opened to nominations Kerry Canie Nominated: Greg Wilson

Seconded: Joanne McGee

Seconded: Sandra Leblanc

Carried

Website and Facebook page- Rob Armstrong will remain

Bonspiels – John Pollack and Ed Richter will take over

Directors: Gervais Pelletier, Claudette Pelletier, Rita Beaudry, Joanne McGee, Norm Nankervis, Noel Arbic will remain

Wayne Jaszan turned it over to the new President, Greg Wilson

Greg recognized Wayne and all his hard work and dedication to the club over the last 9 years

Ray Ginglo added a few words

6. Year in review- Greg Wilson

- 165 paid members this year 2022-23- our highest membership
- 3 curling clinics held Learn to Curl, Skip/Vice, 1st/2nd. Special thanks to Val MacInnes for leading the Clinics. Greg also acknowledged all the volunteers that gave their time to put on these clinics
- Xmas Banquet- approximately 100 people and 0ver \$2600.00 was raised for the foodbanks
- Dusty Baker, Crooked Broom, and Joe Gubbels were all a success. It was noted that for the Joe Gubbels, 38 women and 42 men signed up
- U-18 volunteers- approximately 1/3 of our membership participated
- Special Thank yous to the Executive; Kim Meunier, Steve Meunier and the Board of Directors; the Bar Tenders; the Ice Makers and the entire Membership. Very grateful that we all work together.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Minutes prepared by: Joanne McGee for Kerry Canie