New Horizons Seniors' Curling League

News Page

Club Background
Meeting Minutes
Club Events For The Year
News Page
Wednesday League
Dusty Baker Bonspiel
Roy Carroll Bonspiel
Joe Gubbels Funspiel
Challenge Round IF
Club Photo Album
Archived News
Other Clubs and Sites
Contact Us

This page will be used as a place for announcements  and  recent events of interest.


Timmins New Horizons wins in Iroquois Falls to win the Challenge Cup. In dramatic fashion Timmins won but it came down to the skip's final rock in the final game with both clubs watching the delivery! (Pep talk on the bus from our president seems to have paid off.)

Team Jaszan won the Post-Christmas Wednesday draw. Skip Wayne Jaszan, Vice Jeremy Pacaud, Second Rob Armstrong, and Lead Jerry Hannah.

New Horizons received a letter of thanks from the South Porcupine Food Bank

New Horizons Senior Curling League has been given a donation in honour of the late Bob Armstrong. This money will be used to create a header plaque for the over 80's recipients to honour Bob's love of the game for over 60 years. The remainder of the funds will be used to purchase equipment which will be used in the annual curling clinics to promote safety. Below is a link to the letter from Diane Armstrong to the League. Thanks Diane! (Mom)

Wednesday Pre-Christmas winners were Team Boudreau who were undefeated in the draw. Skip Armand Boudreau, Vice Ray Ginglo, Second Dave Moore, and Lead Ivy Haansen.

Wayne Jaszan would like to thank Malcolm MacDonald for his excellent work on the curling clinic Letter of Thanks

Dusty Baker bonspiel Nov 21 and 22, 2017 has come and gone see Dusty Baker Page for results. Thank-you to all of the organizers and people from out of town that made this event a great success.

2016-2017 Season Summary

This was a good year as a club. Membership was close to last year. Bonspiels went well. Banquets were well attended. Participation in draws was great.

See links at left for event results.

A brief highlight summary from minutes of September 28, 2017


- Sign purchased for the McItyre Curling Club

- Christmas banquet no charge

- Membership prices to remain the same

- Over 80 game dependant on number of curlers

- Sponsor Siva's all asked to patronize our sponsor

- Clinic to be 4 days this year

- Dusty Baker bonspiel to be moved to original dates

- New poster to be used to promote the club (see link on right)



New Curlers for the 2017-2018 Season

We welcome this year's new members to the club:


Vaillancourt, Michelle

Veitch, Laura

Proulx, Estelle

Giannunzio, Dino

McDonald, Helen

Bergeron, Pierre

Duval, Lisa

Canie, Kerry

Garon, Anne Marie

Gauvin, Denise

Gravel, Lise

Fortin, Liliane

Fortin, Diane

Legros, Carole

Legros, Gary

Charette, Mike

Stewart, Rick

Chaumont, Leo

Bozzer, Heather

Mustato, Bonnie

Carole Delarosbil

Richard Delarosbil